The Lonely Spider

lonely spiderI found a faerie trapped

in a spider web one day

I grabbed a hold of her wing

and helped her get away.

The spider eyed me then

such anger and distaste

I thought I’d have to run

and do it with some haste.

But then I heard a voice

the spider spoke to me

“I am too small to hurt you

there is no need to flee.

I am so lonely here

on this web I call my home

nobody comes to visit

no friends have I, not one.”

So I sat with her awhile

our conversation mellow

and now whenever a spider I see

I stop to say hello.

Leave a Reply

